Trouble and Bullies in School

This blogger shares some of her school experiences as an undiagnosed child with autism. It is quite heart breaking. We teachers can certainly make a difference if we understand , pay attention, and actively support children in these situations. This should never have happened to this person in the first place.

Anonymously Autistic

I was a smiley and happy girl before I started school.

I hated school when I was young. My body was made to be constantly in motion. Sitting still and paying attention to the teacher was difficult.

School was overwhelming. It was the first place I experienced sensory overload, and I had a hard time understanding my teachers in a classroom environment. The florescent lights gave me “headaches” and I had a hard time focusing because of all the “background noise”.

In first grade the other kids were learning how to read, but I taught myself to read at an early age.  The teacher wanted me to sit still, not distracting the class, but I had other ideas. I wanted to crawl around on the floor, hide under my desk, and spin in circles.

My teachers were not amused by my behavior and suggested my mother have me evaluated for…

View original post 512 more words

Leave a Reply

